Local News

Governor Okays Deschutes, Crook & Jefferson Counties To Reopen Tomorrow

SALEM, OR -- Governor Kate Brown announced this morning that Deschutes and Crook counties are among 28 of the state's 33 counties that will be allowed to enter a Phase One reopening tomorrow. The Deschutes County Commissioners will hold a virtual news conference at 1pm today to discuss the issue. The governor said two counties, Marion and Polk, were asked for more information while Jefferson, Umatilla and Morrow counties are under review. 

UPDATE #2...As of 1:30 p.m. Thursday. the state approved the reopening plan for Umatilla county.

UPDATE #2 As of 2:15pm Thursday, the state approved the reopening plan for Jefferson county.

Three counties in the metropolitan area of Portland, Multnomah, Washington and Clackamas did not apply for reopening. The counties allowed to reopen tomorrow  must remain in Phase One for three weeks before more restrictions are lifted. Brown warned that if there is a significant spike in COVID-19 cases and efforts to control and contain the outbreak with contract tracing and quarantine fails, the stay at home order may have to be reinstated. The order allows the reopening of bars, restaurants, barbershops and salons, gyms, retail stores, summer camps and transit services. The governor however is asking people who usually work in offices but are working at home to continue to work from home.   

On Air Now

Lars Larson
Lars Larson
12:00pm - 3:00pm
Lars Larson





News Disclaimers