Local News

Gov. Issues Drought Declaration For Crook, Jefferson Counties

PRINEVILLE, OR -- Governor Tina Kotek has declared drought emergencies for Crook and Jefferson Counties, directing agencies to prioritize assistance to the region. Both counties requested the declaration in January. These are Oregon's first drought declarations of the year.

The U.S. Drought Monitor has had at least a portion of Crook County under an “Exceptional Drought” designation since July of 2021 and current reservoir storage is just 10% of capacity.

Portions of Jefferson County are in "Severe" or "Extreme" drought and Kotek's office says reservoir supplies are at or near all-time lows.

Deschutes County Commissioners are scheduled to discuss a drought emergency request for that county on Wednesday.

On Air Now

Lars Larson
Lars Larson
12:00pm - 3:00pm
Lars Larson



News Disclaimers